Our Medical Advisory Board

Comprised of several influential academic professionals from the top universities in the Southeast and beyond, our Medical Advisory Board members review the grant requests we receive.  Our Advisory Board identifies which research grant proposals contain the most promising research poised to deliver effective treatments for results.  The Southeastern Brain Tumor Foundation has no obligatory financial affiliation with a research institution.  We don’t care who finds the cure, just that acure is found.


Roger Abounader, M.D., Ph.D.

Arthur and Margaret Ebbert Professor of Medical Science
Professor, Departments of Microbiology, Immunology & Cancer Biology and Neurology University of Virginia 

David James, Ph.D.

Professor and Vice Chair of Research, Department of Neurological Surgery, Feinberg School of Medicine
Member, Robert H. Lurie Comprehensive Cancer Center of Northwestern University

Balveen Kaur, Ph.D.

Professor & Vice Chair of Neuro-Oncology Research
Department of Neurological Surgery
The Ohio State University
Columbus, OH

L. Burt Nabors, M.D.

Clinical Science Program Leader, Neuro-Oncology Program
Director PCIR, CCTS
University of Alabama Hospital @ Birmingham
Birmingham, AL

John Sampson, MD, Ph.D., MBA, MHSc

Robert H. Wilkins and Gloria Wilkins Professor of Neurosurgery & Distinguished Professor of Surgery with Tenure
Associate Deputy Director, Preston Robert Tisch Brain Tumor Center at DukeDirector of the Duke BTIP (Brain Tumor Immunotherapy Program)

Erwin G. Van Meir, Ph.D. 

Professor of Neurosurgery and Hematology & Medical Oncology
Leader, Cancer Cell Biology Program, Winship Cancer Institute
Director, Emory Graduate Program in Cancer Biology
Director, Laboratory for Molecular Neuro-Oncology
Co-Director, Emory University Brain Tumor Group
Emory School of Medicine and Winship Cancer Institute